Contemporary Arts Center
Lois & Richard Rosenthal Center
for Contemporary Art
44 E. 6th Street,
Cincinnati, OH 45202

513 345 8400


Event Details

Members – $12 / General – $18

Tickets: Nov 15

Buying tickets to 3 or more shows? Take advantage of our special 15% Off deal!

Shared Madness tells the story of a supportive community of artists who wrote new works for Jennifer Koh as payment to generous benefactors Elizabeth and Justus Schlichting’s donation of funds to purchase her new violin. The project celebrates the intensity of the creative process shared between composer and performer, and ultimately reveals the incredible support network that exists between artists.

Inspired by Paganini’s landmark 24 Caprices for Solo Violin, thirty composers offered to write a short piece exploring the relationship between the violinist and the instrument, and the meaning of virtuosity in the 21st century. Among the contributing composers are familiar names like Bryce Dessner, Daniel Bjarnason, and Julia Wolfe, as well as past CAC collaborators Missy Mazzoli, Phil Kline, and Philip Glass. Presented in partnership with the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and its program “Northern Lights”, Shared Madness, Part 1 will see Koh perform sixteen of these new works from both emerging and celebrated figures in contemporary music.

"This exciting American violinist has now moved from the status of an aspiring newcomer to that of an established star” – The New Yorker

See Jennifer Koh with the CSO, November 18-19 at the Taft Theatre

Sponsored by

Additional Photos

Share this Page


Jennifer Koh: Shared Madness, Part 1

Jennifer Koh: Shared Madness, Part 1


Contact Information

Attendee Information